Not so new newbie: Is going natural the new hot trend?

EccentricRed

Greetings!
I am a not so new newbie. I started my hair growing process last September '08 by stalking people on LHCF. I told myself that if these processes worked that I learned on here after a year I would join the party:dance7: ...so here I am! I went from a broke, busted and not to be trusted, relaxed neck-length, to a strong and healthy TRANSITIONING SL. (My hair is past my shoulders but its on it's long mission to APL, and since I'm 5'8" I'm being patient.) My last relaxer was on September 22nd, 2008, and I am a long-term transitioner. I originally do not plan on cutting my hair until September 2010. (Of course, it's a struggle to stay away from the scissors.) Both of my best female friends are natural, and my male friends won't allow me to cut it because they want to see me with long hair, so I have a GREAT support system.

On to my question...I came back to my campus this week, and I noticed that for every 3 black women I saw, 1 was natural. With Tyra, Oprah, and Chris Rock talking about hair (natural, relaxed or everything in between) is going natural the new hot trend? I go to a predominately white campus, and it tripped me out to see so many sistah's with naturals. (However, MANY need to work on moisture, health, etc.)

msa

Welcome!

I think it is kind of a trend. But I'm just happy people are doing it.

Pooks

I agree, it is becoming more common in London also. I eye up alot of extension-haired ladies on the tube thinking "yep, another transitioner!" It's good to see.

toinette

Tricking the president
welcome. I do think its a new trend and I like it. Everytime i see a fly natural head I get jealous and wish I was natural as well. LMAO @ broke, busted and not to be trusted :lol:

Dominican09