What do YOU add to henna?

LadyPaniolo

I'm using some honey and olive oil in this batch... plus apple cider vinegar for color release.

I've never tried adding stuff to henna before, but I figured it couldn't hurt, right?

So who adds stuff to henna treatments? What do you add, in what proportions, and what are the benefits?

twnz&1mo

Be careful with the ACV it is very drying. I use 1-2 capfulls

I'm using some honey and olive oil in this batch... plus apple cider vinegar for color release.

I've never tried adding stuff to henna before, but I figured it couldn't hurt, right?

So who adds stuff to henna treatments? What do you add, in what proportions, and what are the benefits?

Neith

I'm a henna purist :lol: I only add orange juice. I want good, fast dye release and I don't want to weaken the staining power in any way.

I also find that I don't need extra conditioning in the henna. It always leaves my hair feeling great. I never had any brittle hair with henna.

Platinum

The first time I henna'd, I only used water and alma oil. My hair felt like straw, not really dry, just a little stiff.. Next time, I'll add conditioner and Fenugreek to the mix.:yep:

Last edited:

Desarae

-a splash of Lemon Juice--for acidity and color release
-VO5 Conditioner--For Moisture
-1 egg yolk--For Softness and Strength
-Honey--For Added Moisture
-Jojoba Oil--For Lubrication
-Peppermint Essential Oil--For the Tinggggle
-Glycerin--For Moisture

then mix with

-Distilled Water--to form a paste

My hair ALWAYS comes out soft. Never Dry. I don't measure though.

ETA: The first time I only used Lemon Juice and Henna. My hair came out so hard It took weeks to get it back right.

changedlife

I am intrested in this thread cause I am a henna newbie :grin:. So far I tried adding egg, yogurt, green tea and honey. This is my second week of hennaying.

naturalgurl