Weaves on pre-teens?

sweetcashew

When it is ok to start putting weaves and braided extensions in little girls hair?
The reason I’m asking this question is because my cousin puts a weave in her 10 yr old daughter's hair. To me it just is ridiculous but she says that kids are teasing her daughter in school.
I use to do this child's hair. I tried to convince her mother not to perm her hair but she insisted that it was too much to handle so I put a perm in. Her hair was thriving and growing like a weed when I was doing it.
She took her daughter to a very popular, expensive downtown Brooklyn salon (which shall remain nameless) and they decided that whoever was doing this child's hair was doing it wrong. They claimed it was under processed and that her ends needed a touch up.
I warned my cousin not to let anyone else apply her relaxers but I guess because I'm not a professional stylist my opinion doesn't count. :nono:
She started taking her to the salon for about 6 months, now the child has no hair. I mean her hair was mid back and thick, now it barely to her neck and when you comb it, it's just crackles up and comes out on the comb.
Instead of following my advice on how to get her hair healthy again, my cousin decides to put weaves into her hair. Waist length weaves.
I try not to be judgmental but it disgusts me to see that. What do you guys think about this?
Oh by the way, my cousin has been wearing a weave for the last 20 years to make her hair grown. She's almost bald now.

silvergirl

i will NEVER let my child wear a weave.
but in general id say the youngest should be atleast 16.. jmo

Isis

I do know that little girls who've had chemotherapy do get wigs for their appearance and self-confidence. I see no problem with that.

The example you brought up is tragic and a common one, unfortunately. I've seen many little girls with braided extensions which may be a good idea to help grow out the hair. I don't know about weaves though.

comike