Relaxing -vs- Texlaxing

D.Lisha

Ok Ladies, remember I'm still a newbie here so go easy on me :)
I'd like to know the difference in Relaxing -vs- Texlaxing
And what are the pros and cons of both?

From MY understanding:
texlaxing involves only straightening the roots, where as relaxing involves straightening roots and proceeding to comb the relaxer all the way through to the ends?

Is this pretty accurate? :perplexed

Charlie555

Relaxing= processing for full time.
Texlaxing= leaving relaxer on for 1/2 the time to intentionallly under process.

Applying root to tip should ONLY be done on virgin hair for both relaxing & texlaxing. For touch ups on both u only need to apply to new growth.

HTH

Ms.Christ3n

I believe texlaxing is just to loosen the curl whereas relaxing is to completely straighten the curl.
You leave the texlaxer on less than the relaxer so it won't fully "take"
I am natural so this is just what I think not know.

I think the pros of texlaxing would be that you would have the best of both worlds.
Textured hair that hangs more than natural hair and less trouble with reversion and less SSKs and tangles. You can still do wash and gos and it's easier to maintain a straightened style.

Relaxed hair is easier to detangle and you get less SSKs and your length shows more and in some cases causes less damage than straightening once a week would. Some ladies just prefer straight hair and it's less damaging to THEIR hair to chemically straighten rather than put heat on their hair all the time.

Chaosbutterfly

Transition Over
Not exactly.
Relaxer should never be applied anywhere but the new growth (unless it's a corrective relaxer to fix underprocessed portions or a virgin relaxer), and it especially should not be combed through. When that happens, the ends get very overprocessed and end up weak, dry, dull, brittle, and eventually break off.