Using a Children's Strength No-Lye Relaxer

msjones

Apparently I have a super sensitive scalp b/c I used Optimum's Lye Relaxer (mild) and I still have scabs from the burns. Regular relaxers make my hair too straight. Would anyone recommend using a Children's No-Lye Relaxer to texlax? Right now my hair is about 75% straight (i think I have hair type 4a).

I'm trying to re-grow my hair out. It was below shoulder length before, but from the neck down, it was stringy/not healthy. Right now its above my chin. Any relaxer help/recommendations would be WONDERFUL!

Sorry if this isnt the way you're supposed to post. I'm new to this!!! :p

HoneyDew

Girl, those "Kiddie" relaxers will get your hair bone straight if you let 'em.

They are no different - they just have cute little girls on the box.

You might want to try some of the sensitive scalp relaxers out there.

My cousin uses Gentle Treatment No Lye and she has a sensitive scalp.

All Lye relaxers burn me up!! I use Profectiv Super and my hair and scalp love it!

Serenity_Peace

Genius never dies!
HoneyDew said:
I use Profectiv Super and my hair and scalp love it!

...and you have the GORGEOUS hair to prove it!:eek:

Don't use those kiddie perms, msjones! They don't do you any favors... ;)

Welcome to the board, by the way! :kiss:

msjones

HoneyDew said:

All Lye relaxers burn me up!! I use Profectiv Super and my hair and scalp love it!

I think I tried the Profectiv relaxer and forgot all about it. That's the one w/ the mouse neutralizing shampoo? If so I really liked that you didnt have to SCRUB your hair to get it out. Does that relaxer come in mild do you know? You DO have gorgeous hair btw.:p

Divine_Order

HoneyDew said: