Newbie looking for transitioning support!

missalex

Hello all, I am a college student who has been lurking in the background on LCHF for about three years now but just now decided to subscribe...I should have done so earlier! I am relaxed but have been thinking about going natural for a while. My friends (who are relaxed, natural, or in some state of transitioning) support me all the way but my family is a whole 'nother story. :ohwell: My father even told me I would look like a boy!

When I told my mom I wanted to stop getting relaxers she told me that all of my hair would break off. She has her costemology license and has been doing my hair my entire life; I've never been to a salon. So as you can imagine, hs/college was the only time I was doing my own hair and I have been trying to learn all I can from LCHF! I am mostly worried about styles that would prevent breakage as much as possible and keep my hands out of my hair. I think if my mom saw that I was able to take care of my hair while transitioning, she would change her mind!

Can you ladies give me any idea of where to start with maintaining my newgrowth? So far I try to DC weekly and cowash when I feel I need it but my hair is really thick (so thick that I frequently have people ask me if I'm natural!) and I want to keep it healthy without stressing the line of demarcation. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I know some of you beautiful ladies have tips for me :yep:

I will continue browsing these forums as well, this is a gold mine! Thanks so much.

MsChelle