Master DIY sew-in weavers..HELP! I am braided what next?

Tresses

Although I am a newbie and this is my first post, I promise to try to keep it short and to the point. Bypass the first two paragraphs to get to my initial question.

My name is Lesley and I am so glad that I found this forum. Thank you in advance for the great info I found while I was a lerker.
I am currently in cos school and I am very passionate about my trade. I want to ensure that I am on both sides of the fence when caring for my clients hair if you know what I mean, so I feel that this and other hair care forums are the perfect place for me to obtain my "continuing education." I believe and promote healthy hair staples now for myself and my clients.

But this is a selfish post. I have decided to start a regimen for myself. I haven't read as much as I would like (info overload), but I have some basics. I have decided to do the Sew-In Challange to see if I can gain some success as others have and to get back to the length I had not even a year ago.

Now finally the question! I wanted to get tips and advice from those who sew-in their own weaves. I have never done my own sewn in and I have only done it on a victim/cousin once a long time ago. I have a dvd by Ashanti that I watched and I know I can do it, it will just take some time. I have pics of my current length and of the way my cousin braided my hair. I just need tips on those who do it themselves.
www.fotki.com/upandcoming Look under My Tresses, then LHCF members only.
PW: shamis
FYI: I am doing a full head sew-in

How do you close your sew-ins at the top to ensure a natural look?
I heard of people stating they do something to the ends of the weft to prevent lifting, have any of you guys heard of this, if so how do you do it?
I forgot how to secure the thread at the end once the track is in place. Do I tie a knot in the thread or what ?