HELP!! Transitioning through cornrows!!

HairFanatic01

I am so frustrated. I have been wearing cornrows since April 2003 and my last perm was in December of last year. I have a good amount of natural new growth, but my hair seems like its growing so slow. I don't know whether its because part of my hair is still relaxed and its breaking off or what!! Should I cut it off?? Should I keep it?? What leave-ins, protein conditioners and moisturizing conditioner are good for braids and when I take them out?? I mean when I have my cornrows in my hair, I can see that I have it least an inch of new growth, but then when I take out my cornrows, the ends start to shed and although I have a small amount of new growth its hard to tell the difference!!
Could you guys suggest some products, vitamins, or something.....
Oh yeah, I'm already taking Naturre'Plus Ultra Hair Plus, vitamin E, Multi-Vitamin, Garlic, B-6, and neext week I'm going to start taking PP Biotin and PP amino acids.

Laela

Sidestepping the "lynch mob"
That's puzzling... cornrows usually stimulate faster growth than other braids. Are you doing a deep-treat before and after the cornrows?. Seems you need to strenghtn your hair first...

Dido111