CORNROWS

SHOBROWN856

Hi, everybody this is my first time posting to the board,I'm a newbie and have just been lurking for awhile. I noticed that there are quite a few post on cornrows, but I was wondering if you guys are using your own hair for the cornrows or with added hair (synthetic or human). I considering cornrows for myself and covering them with a wig especially for these winter months, however I was wondering about the care of them. I'll be using just my own hair and wanted to know can I wash them (since I'll be wearing a wig, I'm not concerned with the frizzy's, what I am concerned with is will my hair matte up or lock in the cornrows when I wash them(I'm thinking of washing them in the cornrows, and every two weeks taking them out to give them a good wash and deep condition and then redoing then rebraiding them. Also I workout alot so this is another concern

B

Bublnbrnsuga

I cornrow with my own hair. One thing to do before cornrowing is moisturize your scalp and hair. The itchies are nothing to play with. I use olive oil and tea tree oil on my scalp and I massage it in. Then I place a plastic bag over my head to seal in heat and moisture. I follow with a wash out. I don't know about 2 weeks-the longest I could take my cornrows was 5 days. BTW, hello and welcome.

SHOBROWN856

Thanks, Bublnbrnsuga for the reply, so really your giving yourself something like a hot oil treatment prior to doing the cornrows, also did you find you were able to get alot of growth from this process? I noticed your pictures and it looks like you have. Have you posted your regimen somewhere?

HotCoCoGurl130

and welcome. I use my own hair for cornrows and yes I can only keep them in for about 5 days and then I can do a braidout for another 5 days. I do moisturize TWICE a day with water and then seal it in with oil.

aikaa71

i cornrow my own hair. There is a lady who does my cornrows, she does them really small and neat.