"Your Hair Looks Good But It's Nappy Though"

LdyKamz

Please bear with me, since this is my first time posting using the app. Anyway I am relaxed but since my hair is short again I rarely wear it straight. I do like the "natural" styles more anyway. So on the weekend I like to wear a curly fro. I love this look because I think it is cute. I get it by doing lots of pincurls around my head on damp hair letting it dry overnight. Last time my mom saw me my hair was airdried so it was.straight with very little texture. Today she looked at my hair and says "nice but it's nappy though" I didn't say anything so she decided to say it again. Then I said "yeah, that's the point, my hair isn't straight!" I like my hair and that's all that matters but I still want to be cute and it seems as though my hair makes me less cute. What do you guys think of my hair?

Don't mind the make up in the second pic. I still haven't mastered how to do my makeup without getting it on my hair.

Last edited:

LdyKamz

Thanks. Idk, why I let my mother make me feel like it wasn't cute. She did also say "you look like one of those natural girl" That was the first thing she said and I smiled because I was happy. That was the look I was going for. I wasn't offended by the term 'nappy' because yeah my hair is nappy. I guess it was just the look or sound of disdain in her comment. Ehh. I guess I'll get over it.

InBloom

In my new-growth
Yeah, I agree...its very cute. Sassy even. Rock what makes you feel good and that confidence brings out WHATEVER hairstyle you happen to be wearing. IMO

NappyNelle

Kinky Coily 4A, Fine Strands, WSL
I think your hair is pretty; it looks healthy, thick, sheeny, and voluminous. The style looks very deliberate and much more 'styled' than how I have my hair on many days... so what's not to like? :lol: It sounds like your mom isn't a fan of natural hair or the more popular styles, so I wouldn't allow her words to affect me negatively. You look good, so keep smiling.