Trying to Grow My Hair

ClassyDiva

Well im trying to grow my hair. Im not sure what I need to do. Im kinda new to the hair thing. Ive been relaxing my hair for years and it has been growing. Im just ready for it to grow some more. What are some great ways t o help my hair grow?
Here is the pic of my hair in a natural almost state:

Can you tell what type my hair is so I can know exactly what way is best for a grow out?

AlliCat

Welcome :)

We can't tell your hair type from that pic. You need to take a close up pic of your new growth (roots) several weeks/months post relaxer for the most accuracy.

Amber_moon

WELCOME!

Your hair type has absolutely nothing to do with how you grow your hair, so knowing the type really wont do anything. The best thing for ALL hair types is moisture, low manipulation, no (or VERY low amounts of) heat and protecting it from breakage.

The first thing you should try is reading this forum. Do a search on regimen building, then start from there.

Next you are going to need some tools. Do you have a wide tooth comb? How about a satin headscarf for your hair at night? Do you own a deep conditioner? Do you have a SOFT boar bristle brush? If not, make it a point to get these things.

Reading posts on this forum should help you get a good idea of how to treat your hair. Growing it is all about consistently treating your hair well, and protecting it. If you don't do that, your hair will snap off and you wont retain ANY of the growth you get every month.

If you have any questions just ask, the ladies here are awesome and helpful.

lilsparkle825

Welcome! First, a few questions:

*Hair is always growing; the question is, how much is it retaining? What is the longest your hair has been?
*What do you mean by "natural almost" state? How long has it been since you last had a relaxer?
*What's your current regimen (what products are you using and when)?
*How do you normally wear your hair?
*What are your goals?