Those of you who bun.....

drappedup

......how do you do it? More specifically, those of you who SOCK bun, what kind of sock are you using?

I ask this because I sock bun, and I use a normal black sock (I think it's cotton? I have had the same 4 pairs of black socks for nearly 2 years so I don't recall), but it wasn't until recently that it occurred to me the material might be something of an obstacle, which is a real shame considering I'm still a newb at this whole thing. So, I was wondering, satin socks? I've googled, I've looked at Sally's, Walmart, Target, and Walgreens, and I cannot find a satin/silk sock or nylon, ANYTHING I can make a sock bun out of. The closest I've come, was a random experiment idea I got while disappointed in the aisles of Walmart, where I wondering if I could simply layer a satin hair cap over my already made up sock bun. With much effort I cut up the satin hair cap to fit with my sock, but then I ran into the issue of how to get the satin to STAY in the actual donut (didn't occur to me originally)......and I don't sew or have any kind of fabric glue or anything, so that idea is out.

Is there simply not such a thing as a satin sock?

.....and I do need to wear my hair up, preferably in a bun or some other simple updo for work. I've always done the sock bun because it's something EVEN I can do, lol. I tried looking up other styles on youtube, but I swear none work for me in the way that would be presentable for work.

.....so yes, basically, I'm wondering, how are ya ladies doing your buns? ESPECIALLY those of you using the SOCK method!! Much appreciated!

tmhuggiebear

Hi, I do a sock bun. I use regular coton socks for the inside. For the outside(the part that actually touches my hair) I wrapped a piece of black satin cloth that I cut off of old pajamas.

Bun Mistress

I don't really do this any more but you could get a black satin scruchie and use that. I'm a hair stik/pin girl myself.

drappedup