Spinny: Afro Puff Prep and Maintanence

SoopremeBeing

Hi all! I wanted to make a spinny thread from Jrsmith 's thread earlier today. I wanted to get more information about the Afro puff.

I have been transitioning for almost two years, and I can never get my Afro Puff right. I think my mistake is blow-drying my hair after I air dry. Its too straight to be a Puff.

How does one prepare their hair for a Puff properly? Or direct me to a previous thread if this has been discussed already?

Lylddlebit

I rarely wear my hair like this but when I do it just for a day to minimize tangles. When my hair is in a puff or fro at the very beginning or end of the style. Day before or wash day itself.

On straightened hair: I load my hair with water based moisturizers on everything except the ends and perimeter(so the edges look neat) then I pull my hair back with a band(for the fro with headband or ponytail) and put in big twist until almost dry. Once my hair is Very close to dry I take the twists out then comb through once with a wide tooth comb to shape.

On natural hair before wash day. I detangle hair then pull back with a band.

On wash day: Allow twists to become almost dry then shape with one pull through of a wide tooth comb. (sometimes I can make the perimeter straighter with a blow dryer, or flat on on dry hair)

Poohbear

Fearfully Wonderfully Made
After washing, conditioning, detangling, and towel/air drying your hair, you could put your hair in two strand twists and then wrap your twists around flexirods, perm rods, or rollers. After your hair is completely dry, take out the rods or rollers and unravel the twists, then fluff the curls with your fingers. Then apply your headband or ponytail holder to create the afro puff that your want. Hope that helps!!!

NappyNelle

Kinky Coily 4A, Fine Strands, WSL
I airdry in braids with moisturizer, then wear my puff. I make sure that my ends are lubricated. :yep:

Nonie