Retail, Natural hair and TWA.

hnntrr

This is more of an " how do I deal with this situation" problem. As some of you may know I bc'd this past march to natural hair.

I suspect I have 3c/4a coarse lo po hair and have been treating it as such with good results thus far.

I would like to start wearing my natural hair out.

I know I shouldn't care what people think about my hair and part of me doesn't. However, I live and work in Boston which.. Where I work in particular I am the only black girl working there at this time. Maybe even the first this establishment in particular has had in awhile.

Thus far I have been wigging and wearing braids for the past 2 months I have been working there. So them not understanding black hair has resulted in them thinking that my wig is my natural born hair. In attempts to kind of buffer the fact that I will be wearing my hair out I have been dropping hints that I going to cut my hair soon (aka taking these braids out) Even so, they see me as having straight hair not curly hair and when I did try to explain that my hair is actually curly and I just "straighten it" (I told someone I was wearing a wig and she was so shocked).

Basically how to I proceed in which I don't get a bunch of questions a bunch of how does ur hair do that a bunch of oh you have kinky hair comments and such? I really would like to start wearing my hair put especially since weather up here is pretty conducive to me wearing it out (it's pretty contasntly humid and now that fall is approaching my hair won't dry out..the last two times I wore my hair out my hair stayed nice and moisturized.

Sorry this is so long. Haha. But yeah what can I do? What kind of styles can I wear in a TWA that look professional? How do I deal with the questions and prodding and poking for the first few weeks...then how I explain extensions and such when I choose to wig and braid again?

DarkJoy

Bent. Not Broken.