Questions about setting curlformers and bantu knots?

curlytwirly06

So for the past 3 years my constant style has been a braid out. I have experimented with other styles but due to my fine, thin, low density hair, it never turns out well. Most of the time it looks scalpy and oily. I have gotten more experience product wise and want to try again using products better suited for my hair.

About Bantu knot, I saw many YouTube videos where everyone started on blow dried hair. If I did this I think it would give me better results and fluffy hair but I am not good at blowdrying and hate all the little broken strands I attempt a blowout. I thought I could possibly stretch it out with a braid out but that would not give me the volume I am looking for. Any ideas? Any body have any techniques or suggestions on what I should do?

Curlformers: I am terrible at parting my hair and I feel like that had something to so with my lackluster results. I have tons of them and want to learn how to use them to get good results but no matter what I do it does not come out well. I usually put my hair in 4 quarters and slide a piece of hair through. I've always been told that you should start on sipping wet hair but would it be better and have more volume if I tried to do it on dry braid-out hair? What would I use for hold?

Of anyone has any tips I would greatly appreciate them. Thank you.

mssoconfused

My hair is fine too and I find I have to start most styles with a wash and go in order to achieve big fluffy hair and a non "scalpy" look. I've used curl formers once and it made me look scalpy. I plan to try them again this weekend on wet hair. I've also seen people use them on dry hair and it's given a fluffier result. My fear with that technique is trying to comb/detangle dry hair to get the desired look in curlformer.

curlytwirly06