Naturals or transitioners who get sew-in weaves

Stiletto_Diva

I've been transitioning for about 6 months now and i'm tired of the same protective buns that work for me. for the summer i was thinking about getting a sew-in weave to help my transition. my question is how do you do it.

do you straighten the hair first and then get the sew in?
do you use a net?
how long should i keep it in?
How do i wash it?

Any other advice you have to offer is appreciated.

Thanks ya'll

bLackButtaFly

I bunned mine first to stretch it and then straightened it w/ my maxiglide and then had the sew in installed.

I'm not reccommending this method to anyone since I just got it put in a week ago and am not sure how my hair will react, but I wanted to let you know what my process was. HTH!

brownsugarbaby

I'm at the same place as the OP. But i've pretty much made up my mind that I am getting a sew-in for the summer months. I plan to do a clarify, aphogee, straighten, moisturize and sew - in. But I too would like to know the answer of those questions.

RegaLady

I have a sew in and it is doing good, thus far.
do you straighten the hair first and then get the sew in? I leave my hair that will be unseen, natural and not straithtened. The hair that will be seen needs to blnd with the other hair.
do you use a net? I do not use a net because I want to be able to take care of my hair, and oil the scalp, etc..
how long should i keep it in? I have heard no longer than 8 weeks
How do i wash it? I just wask it like any other braids or so. But, it can losen up the track. There are also braid shampoo that you just spray along the tracks and braids.

sweetwhispers

I've been transitioning for about 6 months now and i'm tired of the same protective buns that work for me. for the summer i was thinking about getting a sew-in weave to help my transition. my question is how do you do it.

do you use a net?
How do i wash it?

Any other advice you have to offer is appreciated.

Thanks ya'll