Ladies who self relax!!!

ms_kenesha

I am about to take the jump into self-relaxing territory! Now, it's not that I've never done it before. I did in high school and one time in college when I was broke, but I think I underproccessed my hair or over processed, but I'm ready to jump back in.

I've always noticed that a lot of women with gorgeous hair are the ones who relax themselves or have a friend do it instead of a hairdresser, such as Peachtree and Mochalolita!

So here are my questions:
[*]What Relaxer do you use?
[*]What strength relaxer do you use?
[*] What is your hair type?
[*]How do you keep from overlapping?
[*] Any other tips?

I am thinking about using either Elasta QP in Mild or Motions in Mild.

Thanks in advance

UmSumayyah

I'm working on my technique, and if I may add my voice to Kenesha's here, I have a question on smoothing:
When you smooth with the back of the comb, do you go up-and-down, or in one direction only?

C

Cami

I've been doin my own relaxers for about 5 yrs now. I had to take over because my sis was doing them at first and my hair started coming out. She would always do it every 7 wks and used Super Gentle Treatment relaxers. I had to cut my hair and start over! Anyways, here's my regime:

-Brand-At One With Nature. I like it because it has a lot of natural products and it has the pre-treatment to add before applying. I always use Nexxus Emergencee on my ends before hand also for extra protection.

-My hair type is 4A/B, so I usually leave the relaxer on for 25-35 mins and smooth with the back of a small tooth comb.

-Sometimes you can't prevent some overlapping, but I suggest going through conditioning "bootcamp" before doing the relaxer.

-After my relaxers, I usually use Keraphix to replenish the protein that was lost during the application. My hair is healthy after that.

I hope that helps!!

ms_kenesha

Thanks Cami.