Jilbere: Straightening vs Flat iron

Boadicea

Is there any difference between a ceramic straightening iron and a ceramic flat iron? I want to buy the Jilbere ceramic flat iron after seeing many favorable reviews, but I'm confused as to the difference meant by "flat" and "straightening"

Are they the same or will one make hair straighter than the other, is one better for the hair?

Crysdon

Hi Boadicea,

Not trying to hijack your thread, but do you happen to also have the Jilbere Ceramic Curling Iron? I bought it last night and I'm going to try it this weekend. I'm going to try something new. Instead of the usualy rollerset, I'm going to put my hair in 2 ponytails and sit under the bonnet, then curl my hair with the curling iron.

My question is: What number should I use on the dial? My hair is mostly 3b with a few 3c setions and the strands are very fine. TIA

Boadicea

Hello Crysdon

No, I've never used any Jilbere products before. I don't use curling irons because I always get that novice crease at the end that screams "I did my hair myself"

hairfanatic

Hi Boadicea

I don't know what the difference is, it could be just in the name. I do know that a lot of people on this forum buys the small one for about $37.00.

hairfanatic

Hi Crysdon,

I have the ceremic curling iron by Jilbere but wished that I had gotten the flat iron. The one thing about the curling iron is that over time, the material will scratch off. My hair is similiar to yours and I can use between a 10 and 12 to get a good curl and straightness.

mirrormirror

"flat" and "straightening" means the same thing, just that "straightening" is the modern term now used instead of flat. I bought the jilbere ceramic iron over the weekend and returned it yesterday caue I felt so guilty, I really dont want to have a flat iron in my presencse, thats why I threw out my old one in the trash years ago.

Titansgirl