Is biotin safe

katie

I want to start taking 4mg of biotin a day but I have no idea if there is a toxicity level.
Also I read in a post about biotin causing erratic heartbeats for some ppl and throwing off the menstrual cycle.That sounds bad to me.
Can anyone who has taken over 3 mg of biotin please repsond and tell me if they had negative side effects?or if they just got tons of growth

Peachtree

Katie, welcome to the board
Well I certainly hope that it is safe. Currently I'm taking 5 mg...I've been on it for 3 wks. I have had no side effects, although I'm still new to the vit.

I am far from being experienced on this topic, but from what I've read on the net & here, biotin is water soluable, meaning that it will not "build up" to become toxic. All that your body doesn't need / use will get passed out via urine, sweat, etc.

> Sister's here on biotin, help me out if I'm wrong.... <

BTW, I have recvd a lot of growth since beginning my vit regime

NAY007

i took 5 mg for a couple of weeks and it did make my hair grow but it also broke my skin out, so i stopped.

ny2atl

Peachtree is right. Your body uses what it needs and passes the rest daily. That's a good thing. BUTTT... since you really don't know how much you're passing, you may be wasting more than you're using. That's the only gamble.
No toxicity. I've also been taking 5,000 mcg of biotin for a little more than a month and I've DEFINITELY had increased growth.

If there were concerns of toxicity, I wouldn't even take the risk ... hair growth or no hair growth.

Good luck with your hair!

kreeme

[ QUOTE ]
i took 5 mg for a couple of weeks and it did make my hair grow but it also broke my skin out, so i stopped.

[/ QUOTE ]