How Do You Trim Your Own Hair?

longfroinghair

Hey everyone :wave: I'm a newbie, first thread and post

So My hairdresser gave me an.........interesting trim lol

Think I'll do my own trims for a while

I'd Like to know, for the future, what's the simplest DIY trimming method possible. Or at least something a beginner could do w/o too much risk of messing up. I think I've heard of a "ponytail trimming method" but idunno :perplexed

Any help appreciated

TIA ladies (think it means thanks in advance?)

Kn0ttyByNatur3

Since I don't wear my hair straight and don't plan doing it anytime soon.

I just put my hair into a bunch of small twist and just snip my ends. :)

:welcome: to the board.

bride91501

I put my hair in a bunch of small twists (which I subsequently wear for 2-3 weeks), then I snip off about 1/2" from each end.

I do this twice a year - every March and August. I rarely wear my hair straight, so I'm not concerned about perfectly blunt ends....just trying to head off any potential splits.

HTH

greenandchic

I trim my hair when its wet with conditioner - one small section at a time. I never wear my hair straight and I usually only trim about 1/4" off all over.

WyrdWay

I use fey's trimming method. Youtube search for it!!!!

Sent from my T-Mobile G2 using T-Mobile G2

longfroinghair

Since I don't wear my hair straight and don't plan doing it anytime soon.

I just put my hair into a bunch of small twist and just snip my ends. :)

:welcome: to the board.

ooooo I like this idea :yep: I'll definitely try this one! And thanks for the welcome :grin:

I trim my hair when its wet with conditioner - one small section at a time. I never wear my hair straight and I usually only trim about 1/4" off all over.

Really?...My hair's pressed natural and it shrinks up when wet, plus the ends don't look split or dry when my hair is wet.... only when I flat iron. What's the benefit of trimming wet for you?

lana