Anybody trim their own natural hair?

ProdigalDiva

I've done bangs before, but my hair really needs a good trim. However, I've had some bad experiences with salons chopping my hair... is there anybody out there that trims their own hair? If so, what method are you using? Are you trimming while straight or curly? Thank ya LHCF fam!

Chameleonchick

I only trim my hair in small twists. This is the best way for me, because I do not wear my hair straight. I am not concerned with an even "hem line," so it works out for me.

Jewell

I only trim my hair in small twists. This is the best way for me, because I do not wear my hair straight. I am not concerned with an even "hem line," so it works out for me.[/QUOTE]

Same here! I'm hardly concerned with straight hair and when I do want a cute swinging bob I just slap on a wig! I section my hair in 4's then divide each section in 2 b.c. my hair is so thick. I trim while curly, of course.

Then, I trim a set amount from each small section. If I decide I need 1/2" off, I do the same amount all around. I dont need it to be perfect cuz I rarely wear it straight (maybe once per year, if that)

Whimsy

Ive trimmed on small twists and had decent results.

I tried trimming on larger twists last month and JACKED my ends up...uneven when straight but decent looking when curly, so if you wear it curly then no issue trimming on big twists then!

Trimmed today on straight hair, I flat iron, then pull back in a low pony, then slide the ouchless band straight down w/o moving my head or moving hte band to either side, then I snip how much I want. Then I do the same on each side.

I copycatted the technique of a woman in a YT vid. I couldnt find that vid now if i tried. Maybe someone else knows it... she was a white woman with super long stringy hair.

Whimsy

I used this method to trim my hair when still kinky. My hair isn't as long as hers but it still worked well, I wasn't going to straighten my hair just to trim it.