How do you properly comb wet hair?

NicBenny

I apologize in advance if this has been previously addressed; however I did not find what I wanted to know when I performed a search.

At any rate, I am new to taking care of my own hair. I have been salon dependent for many many many years. Now, that I've made the decision to transition, I want to learn and get to know my own hair.

With that said, before two months ago, I hadn't washed my own hair in like 8 years because I frequent the salon. Anyway, I have the type of hair that must be combed through after the DC has set because it is usually a tangled mess after shampooing.

I was chatting with my cousin yesterday and we were discussing hair care. She told me that I was combing my hair out incorrectly when it's wet. She said that I should start combing out the ends first then work my way up to the roots and that combing from root to tip will pull my hair out. Do ya'll agree? I comb from the roots sometimes and other times from the tip, depending on the section. The washer at my salon sometimes comb from the roots. Btw, I always use a wide-tooth comb.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks much.

I definitely go ends to root.

going root to ends will mash and pack tangles together causing more stress and pulling out more hair than necessary.

and i only use a wide tooth comb. I don't mess with small tooth combs at all.

also go in sections so you don't go crazy.

Kudos to you for taking care of your own hair. go girl

Yep, your cousin is right. I'll add that you should comb hair while damp, not wet--the hair's much more fragile in that state--and only after it is coated with a product that gives slippage like conditioner, a leave-in, or oils. I find it helps immensely for me to detangle my hair before I shampoo and DC.

Are you natural or relaxed?