From braids to a weave. Good idea?

troi21

I have been transitioning from relaxed to natural hair for seven months now. I have been wearing human hair braids for two months and need to take them out soon.

Is it a good idea to go from braids to a weave straight away? I plan to remove the braids myself. Deep condition my natural hair for a couple weeks and then get the weave done.
Should I wait longer? How long can weave last? I was hoping for something longer than two months. Would I be able to maintain an active lifestyle with the weave? (I will be at the gym three times a week)

TIA

sweetpea5000

Have you worn a weave before troi? In my experience, braids have worked better for me, being active especially, because:

1) my head can breathe better,

2) depending on how you get your weave put in (cornrowed, glued, how much of your own hair is left out) it can be a lot of maintenence to keep it looking good, even more if your hair is natural (blending with the weave), or if the weave is curly (they can get so knotted!).

When I have worn weaves it was usually for a special occasion and was not something I could maintain for over a month at the most because of the time it took( combing it, straightening pieces of my own hair to blend), and to be honest, I didn't wash it much because I wanted it to look good. Not to mention the fact that I felt like I had a helmet on my head with all the cornrows underneath!!!