Cold Wave Rods

knt1229

Hellooo!!!
I am a new newbie. First I just want to thank all of you ladies for the helpful info I have recieved lurking on this site. I am in transistion and thanks to the info I have found here and on other sites hopefully all my hair won't get damaged and break off in the process...LOL. I don't plan on doing a BC until about 80-90% of my hair is natural. Right now I am 18 weeks post relaxer. I got my last and final relaxer December 29, 2008. :yep:

Anyway on to my question. I tried to rod set my hair using cold wave rods. I bought the orange ones thinking they would fit my hair but when I unrolled my hair I looked like I had a curly perm. :nono:I looked a mess. In stead of the big bouncy curls I have seen on other ladies I had small tight curls.

Obviously, I need a larger size rod but I am not sure how much larger I need. What's the best way to pick the right size rod for my shoulder length hair?

I don't want to get something too big then I won't get a good tight curl but I don't want something too small because then I'll look like I did the last time I tried this.

Also, the curls didn't hold up. So if anybody could recommend a good setting/wrapping lotion that won't make my hair hard and heavy I would appreciate it. :drunk:

Last edited:

msa

Welcome!

I have no clue about this. Are cold wave rods the ones that make spiral curls? I think you want the regular kind of rollers.

Try looking in the rollersetting challenge or other rollersetting threads. I know they must talk about the rollers in there.

knt1229

Thanks I appreciate your response. A rod set is a little different than a regular roller set. A rod set gives you ringlets (Shirley Temple curls) and it should last for at least a week. It's a low manipulation style that's good to cover up the 2 textures if you are transitioning.

I'll look over in those threads you suggested though.

Thanks...

Last edited:

msMicaela