Beginner DIY Extensions - Havana Twists - First Attempt

naturalmanenyc

I finally put extensions in my hair all by myself! :grin: I filmed it here: http://youtu.be/mp5auzzT0P0

I could not get the hang of all those braid start and counterclockwise double twist methods on YouTube so I just did what worked for me. I twisted in the extension hair on one side and then just wrapped the loose end of the extension around the base, covered the "knot" with my own hair, and started twisting. I did not do my entire head since I didn't have enough hair for that. I installed 8 twists to see how it would look.

I had been researching this style since January 2012 and now that I finally decided to have them installed, the salon where I had my consultation went out of business. I was disappointed but since I had Marley hair leftover from my Senegalese twists, I decided to try them on my own since I've been two strand twisting my own hair for years.

I do need to know how to hide the ends of my own hair though. I didn't use any gel or holding product, only a moisturizer, so gel might solve the problem.

I also don't like this Marley hair. It's coarse, which I didn't really realize since I didn't really handle the hair. The braider recommended it when we ran out of Janet Afro hair when I had my Senegalese twists installed.

HairPleezeGrow

Natural.MediumFine.3c.
Nice job for your first attempt! I wish I could do these. I can do anything else except a decent roller set and these darn twist with extensions lol.

HPG

Don't judge...Sent from my Galaxy Note II using LHCF

naturalmanenyc

HairPleezeGrow
Have you tried the mohawk method? I sucked at rollersetting until I started using the mohawk method, rollers down the center and then the sides. I have a couple of videos on my YouTube channel of me rollersetting.

Nice job for your first attempt! I wish I could do these. I can do anything else except a decent roller set and these darn twist with extensions lol.

HPG

pink219