Difference btwn 3c & 4a- What are the coil shapes?

alibi

hair bored
I have become a little confused about my hair type lately. Here's the scoop: I've been transitioning for about 4 months, but I've had a relaxer consistently for the past 13 years (since I was 13), so I'm now rediscovering my natural hair type. I know we pretty much use Andre's system, but he doesn't include 3c, so I need some more info on coil shape for this type. I have about 1 1/2 inches of new growh, and most of my roots are in these slinky looking coils about the diameter of a pencil or ink pen, some are a bit wider. Is that what is defined as 3c?
confused.gif
If so, what is the curl pattern of 4a?
confused.gif
I know that more than 1 type can exsist on one head too, but I'm trying to understand the curl pattern of these types so I'll know the difference. Thanks in advance ladies!
grin.gif
And it's good to be back...I've been sitting on this question since Monday!!!
wallbash.gif
smile.gif

Good question. I think a lot of people are confused on this. I see people who are clearly type 4s who consider themselves 3s and vice versa. The type 3c was basically made up by people who felt they didn't quite fit into Andre's definition of 4a. I think they are the same thing. All types have a little sliding scale before they reach the next category. I think 3c is just on the other end of the 4a scale.

Don't take this the wrong way, but what difference will it
make for you. What are you going to do differently if you're one or the other...just curious

[ QUOTE ]
YOTEGRA said:
Don't take this the wrong way, but what difference will it
make for you. What are you going to do differently if you're one or the other...just curious

[/ QUOTE ]