big chop VS transitioning hair growth

ProtectiveStyling

hey ladies, lately i have been curious to why women who get the big chop hair always grows faster than those transitioning... & im talking about the hair from the root more so than length.... let me explain: i have been transitioning for about 22 months now & i get my hair cut A LOT to get the permed ends off. I only have a few inches left, however, on those pieces of hair i notice that my natural new growth only comes to my ear. the parts of my hair that doesnt have any perm is way longer.. it doesnt add up because hair is suppose to grow around 6 inches a year. plus my strands with permed ends are really healthy still.. I youtube other women who are transitioning & it looks the same way with them also. Ladies who get the big chop, on the other hand, natural new growth is atleast shoulder length by now. Regardless if those transitioning have split ends, damage, or this and that.... their new natural hair is still suppose to be longer right??? why is the growth slowing down for those strands?? my hair is very healthy, but i feel i have been cheated some inches or something...

LaFemmeNaturelle

Hair Grows at the same rate whether you big chop or transition. Growth rates are not the same for everyone. Hair grows at an average rage of 6 inches a year so some ladies will get more and some will get less. You may be one of those who get slower growth butto maximize your potential, you need a healthy diet and regular physical activity. Don't become discouraged looking at other naturals. Every journey will be different. Just make the most of yours.

I'm on my phone so excuse the typos

Last edited:

ProtectiveStyling