Advice Plz: Less Heat or Less Relaxers?

What will aid in maximum length retention/healthy hair?

• Less Heat

Votes: 83 76.1%
  • Less Relaxers during the year

Votes: 26 23.9%

• Total voters

OneInAMillion

Hi Ladies,

I'm trying to revamp my regimine for 2007. Last year, I got two relaxers during the year, but that meant using a blowdryer to get my roots straight. I can stretch with no problem (and minimal heat for 4 months). After that, I find that I need to use heat more often.

I was thinking of getting three relaxers a year instead of two (that would be stretching for 4 months at a time). I think this could be healthier because I wouldn't be using heat much at all, which I feel might aid in overall length retention.

The only reason I'm hesitant is because my hair is fine, I texturize, and I'd hate to risk overprocessing. Also, I've been stretching for a minimum of 5 months for the past two years, and I've never had hair this thick since I've been relaxed.

What do you think I should do?

sareca

Wow, tough call. I think I'd go with less heat. A touch-up every 4 months it a good schedule. But I'm biased. Every 4 months is my relaxer schedule. :wink2:

navsegda

If you can get your hair straight and keep it that way without heat, then I don't think it would hurt to add one more relaxer a year.

LocksOfLuV

sareca said:
Wow, tough call. I think I'd go with less heat. A touch-up every 4 months it a good schedule. But I'm biased. Every 4 months is my relaxer schedule. :wink2:

Ditto, I say less heat.

Mystic

Relaxing 3-4 times per year is excellent. If you use less heat, along with texlaxing 3 X per year, your hair will get even thicker.

Isis

Mystic said:
Relaxing 3-4 times per year is excellent. If you use less heat, along with texlaxing 3 X per year, your hair will get even thicker.
ITA with Mystic.

I suggest less or no heat. For me, heat and relaxed hair does not work together. I relax about 4 times per year.

*Frisky*