BSL & longer? Post your reggie & tips here!

LadyPaniolo

When I was a newbie I stalked long haired ladies for reggie info and any tips they might have. That helped me to formulate my own regimen and to tweak it when it wasn't working well.

I'd like to create a database for newbs and everyone else as well to use as a reference guide. I'd like BSL ladies to come and post so we can compile what reggie they use and any special little tips, advice and tricks of the trade too.

LadyPaniolo

Here's a rough template:

Current length:

Hair type:

Relaxed, natural, texlaxed, BKT or other?:

How long have you been on a Healthy Hair Journey?

What is your reggie?:

What special tips, advice or tricks have you learned?

LadyPaniolo

Here's a rough template:

Current length: MBL

Hair type: 4a

Relaxed, natural, texlaxed, BKT or other?: about 2/3 texlaxed, the rest natural.

How long have you been on a Healthy Hair Journey? 3 years

What is your reggie?: I stick to hardcore protective styling, primarily using C&G braids and wigs. I rarely use shampoo, but when I do it's the Sally's GVP Mild Redkin poo. I use henna to cover greys every few months, and Aphogee 2 step every 6-8 weeks as of late. Almost never use heat. I take biotin & b-complex w/prenatal vits daily, I've just added gelatin to that as well. I also make sure to sleep with a scarf/du-rag/bonnet on a satin pillowcase every night, and to keep my hair totally covered while outside in winter.

• If your hair is cornrowed up you won't be as tempted to play in it.
  • Heat is not MY friend. I only rarely use it.
  • My trademark... I apply Kenra MC to wet hair in tiny sections, then immediately seal with something heavy... I think coconut oil is best, with shea butter, cocoa butter or cheap grease as alternatives.

My answers are in pink.

Last edited:

LadyPaniolo