Regretting the decision to texlax

imani97

I know that there a millions of threads about the wonders of texlaxing and I used to be a faithful follower. However, now that much of my hair is texlaxed, I am regretting this decision big time. First, the texture isn't consistent throughout. The bottom two-three inches for some of my hair is fully relaxed while others are texlaxed. Then I have a huge chunk in the middle of each strand that is completely straight. I think my stylist forgot that I was texlaxing that time. :ohwell: Anway, some of my ends are a frazzled mess. Although, that could be b/c I'm not very good at setting my hair. Nonetheless, I am very frustrated right now. Just wanted to vent and share my experience. I think that I will discontinue texlaxing, especially since I have not found anyone to do it right consistently. :(

Update (7/26/07):
I still have my hair texlaxed. My stylist uses Alter Ego texturizer and it has shea butter in it. I've been able to manage my hair much better now. I am a 4b, so I will never have a curly wash and go, but I have been able to do a braidout or twistout and have it look decent. I'm still experimenting. I just didn't want to give anyone the impression that I have given up.

Last edited:

Quty_Bug

I feel the same way, but I never texlaxed my hair on purpose. I started relaxing my hair on my own like 9 months ago and I guess I never leave it in long enough and it always came out under processed. Im thinking of have someone do a corrective relaxer, but im scared to take the risk. I just chalk it up and say that i'd rather be under processed than over processed.

I hope you figure out a way to work with your different textures, until you can get it all evened out.

Blackoutzangel05

have you considered doing your perms yourself? That way you have more control over how long they are in and I am sure that you won't forget that you don't want your hair bone straight.

OneInAMillion