"z"-pattern?

Hello. I am currently transitioning for the second time. Now that I have much more new growth than the first time I have noticed that my hair actually does not curl but has a small "z"-pattern. I feel like my texture doesn't fit anywhere in the 3c or 4a category like I thought. I don't know what type it is. I'm starting to get frustrated again since I am having trouble figuring out what my hair will look like 100% natural and how to style it. Is there anyone with this hair type that has any suggestions for me during the transition? TIA

Last edited:

peony

I'm a newbie (so take my words with a grain of salt) but having spent many years natural, and a fair number relaxed, I don't think you can really tell what your texture will be like from your new growth. It takes a while after cutting out a relaxer for your texture to get settled, and your ends might actually curl when they're all natural. I have a texturizer now and my new growth looks like a very tight s, but when I was natural for like 18 years, and my hair tended to be around shoulder length, it was definitely looser and more cottony.

PinkSkates

Hello. I am currently transistioning for the second time(first time only lasted six months). Now that I have much more new growth than the first time I have noticed that my hair actually does not curl but has a small "z"-pattern. I feel like my texture doesn't fit anywhere in the 3c or 4a category like I thought. I don't know what type it is. I'm starting to get frustrated again since I am having trouble figuring out what my hair will look like 100% natural and how to style it. I there anyone with this hair type that has any suggestions for me during the transition? TIA