Where do I start?!

yoMOCHA

I am veeery new to this. I leave for college (Clark Atlanta University) in a little more than two weeks, and I want to learn how to take care of my hair on my own before anymore of my hair falls out. I'm not exactly sure what kind of hair I have, but I do have a fotki profile with pretty recent pictures of my hair (about a week old). My hair is very thin and dry and I also have 2 or 3 bald spots that idk how to get rid of. Please take a look at my album (link below). If anybody has any words of wisdom they'd like to offer, I would definitely appreciate it. Thanks in advance! :grin:

http://public.fotki.com/mochaMINAJ/july-2009-before-i-start/

Hiya! And welcome!

I am by NO means an expert. Also, I have natural hair..but judging by the patching you've experienced (and witnessing a cousin experience similar problems)..the first thing I would recommend you do is absolutely see a dermatologist. Whatever they say to you.... "no more relaxers" will probably be on the list. It seems like you need to be really, really gentle with your hair. I don't know if you need protein, or moisture, or both (probably both), but if you search porosity and protein-moisture balance some of Sistaslick's articles should come up, and those will help you get familiar with the sort of things you're going to need to be thinking about.

I hope someone comes along with more useful information :/ I know hair is not what you want to be worrying about when you go to school.

In the mean time, post what you already do :] And good luck, both with your hair and at school :]

I really do appreciate that. I've been planning on seeing a dermatologist before I leave for school, so I will definitely set an appt now. I've been trying to stray away from getting relaxers. My last one was on April 30th. I'll also do the protein search. Thanks for helping! And thanks for the good luck wishes!