Tips on going natural/transitioning

B

Bublnbrnsuga

Wow! There are tons of threads on this site about transitioning to natural
cool.gif
I decided to create this thread because I noticed that there are still some misconceptions and questions about what to do and how to go natural. I am NO expert,but since I have transitioned from October 2002 to February 2004, I know a lil something something
smile.gif
Here are my personal tips and advice to those who have decided or are contemplating going natural. Other natural ladies,please chime in for completeness
smile.gif

1. DO NOT comb natural/transitioning hair when it is dry!!! This is the main problem that women experience and is the most important concept when going natural. Have you all ever been told that if you grow out your perm your hair will break off? Well,it is not the the growing out process itself that is the problem,it's trying to comb the hair as you would if you were still perming. YOU HAVE TO TAKE YOUR TIME AND COMB YOUR HAIR! You cannot just rake a comb through it at all. The best times to comb natural/transitioning hair is in the shower,when it is soaking wet and full of conditioner and even out the shower,when it is wet/damp and it has some sort of hair product in it. For detangling purposes,use a wide toothed comb. I prefer the K-Cutter. Not only does it detangle,but it can be used as a pick if you want to be froed out that day.
smile.gif
Personally,I even use a small rattail comb on my hair for further detangling,but that is only after I detangle my hair with a wide toothed comb and my hair is still full of product and is wet/damp. Another great detangling tool is the Denman 3-da bomb. It can be used as a detangler and greatly distributes product throughout the hair. If you have curly or wavy hair and you are having problems seperating your curls or waves, this brush will hook you up.
smile.gif