Press and Daily Moisture

How do you press and curl gals (or naturals that flat iron) moisturize your hair? Moisturizers are water based and that causes reversion doesn't it. I'm confused. I'm new to the press and curl world and I'm trying to train my hair to wear a press. I'm not sure where the moisturization part comes in. Since I have to press it, I don't want to do it too often. Oh yeah, another question. Girls that always wear a press. How often do you do it and how long does your hair stay straight? Thanks in advance.

Je Ne Sais Quoi

I flatiron and I try to not start with the moisture too soon because it's all over after that. I guess in my case it really doesn't matter anyway because my press only lasts about 4-7 days. I am surprised that a lot of women here can get their hair to last 2 or mor weeks. I don't see how they do it. My hair is horrendous after that 4-7 period.

Blackoutzangel05

Okay when I was natural, it was pre-LHCF, I was one that could keep my presses for 2 weeks, although I got my hair done weekly. (another reason that I know that getting it pressed every week doesn't harm your hair if you take care of it.) Now when I got home, I would grease my scalp and continue to do so every other day. My scalp would be so dry if I didn't do this. After I greased it I would give it a good brushing and then roll it. I rolled my hair every night and my hair didn't revert. Now if she just flat ironed it it wouldn't hold as straight, my roots would poof but I came to love the volume. If I got it pressed then flat ironed (she would curl with the flat iron) I would get a longer hold.

In the summer, I didn't wear presses because I do sweat in my head alot and it would be pointless. So I would wear another style or it would have to be done weekly, no excuses.