NAPE ISSUES...PLEASE HELP

Kiki82

HELLO ALL...I AM NEW TO THE HAIR BOARDS, AND I REALLY NEED SOME HELP. NO MATTER HOW MUCH I TRY TO GROW OUT MY HAIR THE HAIR AT THE NAPE ALWAYS BREAKS. I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO ANYMORE. IT IS SO BAD THAT MY STYLIST "TOLD" ME THAT I HAVE THE CUT THE HAIR AT NAPE OFF. MY HAIR IS ALMOST BSL, AND THE NAPE WAS ALMOST SL..SOME SECTIONS OF THE NAPE HAS 1/2 TO A 1 INCH OF HAIR... I DON'T KNOW IF IT BROKE AT THE DEMARCATION LINE OR WHAT. SO MY STYLIST SAID THAT SHE WOULD CUT ALL MY HAIR TO SL. I ASKED HER WHY CAN'T SHE JUST CUT THE NAPE AND TRY TO REGROW IT, BUT SHE SAID THAT IF I WORE MY HAIR DOWN THAT IT WOULD LOOK THIN AS THERE IS NO HAIR AT THE NAPE. THIS IS SO FRUSTRATING.... DOES ANYONE HAVE ANY SUGGESTION ON HOW TO GO ABOUT THIS..OR ANY NAPE REGIMES...I FEEL LIKE ALL MY MONTHS OF HAIR GROWING JUST WENT DOWN THE DRAIN....ANY HELP WILL BE GREATLY APPRECIATED....

I'm having the same problem. I decided to do a nape challenge for myself, but if you'd like to join me let me know. I'm starting on 5/1. Send me a PM.

dontspeakdefeat

Hair Coach
Welcome! :wave:

You don't have to cut all of your hair to the same length as the nape. The nape area is covered by all of your other long hair so no one will even see if you just cut that area.

It's time to start babying that area and giving it a little tlc. Extra moisture and low manipulation of that area is key into grow out that area.

You are not alone. A lot of ladies here have that same problem and many have sucessfully grown their nape area to great length with a little extra special care.

We actually have a grow your nape hair challenge going on right now and there is whole thread full of information to help get you started.

Here's the link to the thread!! Happy Hair Growing to you!!

http://www.longhaircareforum.com/showthread.php?t=196435

malibu4590

I don't think you should let your stylist cut your nape at all.