My Very First Self Install

SoopremeBeing

Hi all.

Since I am very strapped for cash, and I desperately needed my hair done, I was forced to install my own weave. From start to finish; Sewing in my weave is not problem, but I am a novice at cornrows. The hair I used was Outre Abella Wave and I left my own hair out for the horseshoe, as well as my edges. Unfortunately I am having issues with blending.

I washed with Doo-Gro shampoo, did a 45-min DC with Organic Olive Oil Replenishing Conditioner, air dried for an hour, blow dried for 10 mins, and then cornrowed. I used Wild Growth oil for my scalp, Profectiv MegaGrowth for moisturizing, and sealed with Vitamin E oil. I know, oil overload.

The final results are in the pics below, I've been finger-combing the weave for about 10 minutes now to get a more natural-ish look.

Im not really happy with it, TBH :nono:. I am thinking about just braiding the leave-out and doing an invisible part.

Feedback please?

Last edited:

kandiekj100

I like it. It be my own personal bias, but I think I'd like it more if it was a tad longer or a touch fuller. But I think the blending is cool. If you aren't completely liking how the front looks, maybe you can play with pinning up the sides, or putting a headband on.

SoopremeBeing

I like it. It be my own personal bias, but I think I'd like it more if it was a tad longer or a touch fuller. But I think the blending is cool. If you aren't completely liking how the front looks, maybe you can play with pinning up the sides, or putting a headband on.

Yeah, I think it looks a bit flat in the back. I only used one pack of hair(I bought two), so i still have plenty to go around.

manter26

I would just add a few more tracks all around so it's bigger. I don't think the invisible part is necessary. The leave out looks good as it is now.

zoromo

You did a ggreat job! The only thing you may need to brush it out more so the curls look less uniform.

beana