keeping new growth under control for the stretch????

indarican

hey everyone,

I am very new to this and was wondering when you stretch relaxers, how do you keep the new growth under control? Do you flat iron alot? Should I leave in the conditioner? Is gel ok for the time in between relaxers?

Also can someone please tell me what co-wash stands for

Thanks a million!!!

Friggin' Licia

Well for me, after I wash and DC my hair I usually blot it 80% dry with a towel, put in NTM silk touch and put my hair in bantu knots with a scarf tied to keep my edges straight (this is usually 2-5 hours before bed. Then before bed I unravel my mostly dry hair and retie it and scarf twice so it doesnt come off in the night. (I know, alot of work) I'm currently 8 weeks post with about an inch of unstretched ng.

indarican

Well for me, after I wash and DC my hair I usually blot it 80% dry with a towel, put in NTM silk touch and put my hair in bantu knots with a scarf tied to keep my edges straight (this is usually 2-5 hours before bed. Then before bed I unravel my mostly dry hair and retie it and scarf twice so it doesnt come off in the night. (I know, alot of work) I'm currently 8 weeks post with about an inch of unstretched ng.
Is NTM an acronym or an actual brand? do you think that will work if i try to do the twist outs?

longhairlover

it's all about finding good detangling conditioners. for newgrowth silk elements moisture conditioner is great! mizani moisturfuse used with heat detangles well and softens the hair really well.

when I stretch I don't flat iron daily, I do the same thing I do with freshly relaxed hair which is wash once or 2x's a week rollerset (back in the days blowdry) and flat iron the hair stays straight for the week or until my next wash.