I have been wearing braids for 5 yrs and now want to texlax, what should I do first

kjones

I am new to LHCF and looking for some help. I have had braids in for about 5yrs and about a wk and a half ago, I took my braids out, wash & condition and have been using S-Curl to moisturize & Coconut oil. I'm about shoulder length stretched. I'm in between 4b/c

It took me a LOOONG time to blow dry and flat iron my hair because it was so intense. I have decided to texlax. What should I do first? Should I do a protein treatment before or after I tex lax? Also, do I need to detangle my hair before i put in the texlax? I want to be able to manage my hair and not spend all my time detangling.

Any other advice would be appreciated, as I am starting out my hair journey brand new..

Mystic

Re: I have been wearing braids for 5 yrs and now want to texlax, what should I do fir

Since you have been in braids for so long and only recently took the braids out for a wk and a half, I would wait at least a month before doing the texlax. During this month I would DC and use the month to prepare the hair for the chemical relaxer. I would also find a stylist to texlax it for you so you minimise the risk of any damage on your virgin hair.

I would love to see what your hair look like after wearing braids for 5 yrs - wow!

Ladybelle

Re: I have been wearing braids for 5 yrs and now want to texlax, what should I do fir

Since you have been in braids for so long and only recently took the braids out for a wk and a half, I would wait at least a month before doing the texlax. During this month I would DC and use the month to prepare the hair for the chemical relaxer. I would also find a stylist to texlax it for you so you minimise the risk of any damage on your virgin hair.

I would love to see what your hair look like after wearing braids for 5 yrs - wow!

cosigning with this, add a couple of protein treatments to the mix.

southerncitygirl