How do you change the texture of you hair?

strenght81

I have been wearing a weave for about 6-7 months and I realized that the texture of my hair has changed, for the worst. The texture of my hair is rough and dry after a perm. I would like to know has anyone experienced this and how do you change the texture of the hair, to a more smooth soft feel?

Also I usually leave in the weave in for 2 months at a time and put in another one back to back.

glamazon386

The only way to change texture is by some type of chemical process. You probably just need to moisturize your hair. Have you been moisturizing it while the weave has been in? How often do you wash the weave? When you take the weave down, DC your hair. Especially if you're going to weave back to back. And be sure to use some type of braid/weave moisturizer on the cornrows while you have your hair weaved. I've been wearing weaves for almost a whole year back to back. I did take some breaks in between, I had braids for a month, wigged it for a few days between styles, etc... but I didn't have any problems with dryness. CWing also helped me during the summer months to keep my hair moisturized. When I went to a new stylist to get a weave and she touched my hair when she started, she was like "Oooh! Your hair is REALLY soft!" like she was surprised or something. I must have been doing something right... :lol: HTH...

Last edited:

strenght81

bmoreflyygirl said:
THave you been moisturizing it while the weave has been in? How often do you wash the weave?