Henna Pros: I need henna help!

Papoose

The Phoenix
So, I think I'm finally ready to try henna. I went to mehandi.com, but jamila only has a 2009 batch. Where do you buy your henna & what brands do you use? I live in Houston & debated going to an Indian grocery to buy some. The problem with that is, I have no idea what brand to buy! Any help would be appreciated. :grin:

reeko43

I'm not a pro but Nupur Henna is a great brand to try if you decide to go to the Indian grocery. I am having great results with it and the price is right!

IDareT'sHair

PJ Rehabilitation Center
I buy all My Henna and Indigo from Mehandi.com I am Relaxed so I buy "Body Art Quality" for African American and Chemically Treated Hair.

I have been purchasing from them exclusively for 2 years.

Alta Angel

I use Celebration Henna from Mehandi.com since it has the highest dye content (to cover these greys!). The site is currently sold out, so I may try the Ancient Sunrise Purity Henna next. The Celebration henna is relatively easy to apply and is very easy to rinse out. I have a couple of pics in my latest Fotki folder from my first henna. I did a henna treatment/coloring this past weekend and the color came out much richer than the first time. It went from a more coppery tone to more of a red tone.

I use aloe vera juice and/or cranberry juice as my acid and distilled water in my henna paste. I always follow up the henna treatment by steaming with AO HSR conditioner mixed with olive oil and honey for 45 minutes.

Last edited:

JJamiah

I love Nupur brand and I also Love ayurnaturalbeauty.com where you can purchase Nupur.

Jamila was my first but Nupur is my keeper :)

LilMissSunshine5

I wanted to try henna as well, but it seems like the color only shows up faintly/in the sunlight...if you wanted a deeper/brighter red, would henna get you that? TIA

JJamiah

I tried and still have 1.5 bars of LUSH, Won't buy it again. Just was a nice expensive rinse down the sink :(

Alta Angel