Healthy Scalp - My Starting Point

tuffCOOKiE

Hi Everyone!

I'm transitioning to natural and it seems that my scalp is not as healthy as I assumed it was.

I've been transitioning for about 10 months now and I'm starting to notice the same areas get itchy and sore. Not only that, but I've also noticed that my scalp is EXTREMLY itchy after washing with shampoo (am I allergic?)

Can you guys help me get my scalp in tip - top shape? How do you know when your scalp is finally healthy and what, do you think, helps you maintain your healthy scalp?

TIA!

msa

You could be allergic to ingredients in your shampoo which is why it's extremely itchy afterward. Try and see if you can isolate which ingredients it is. That goes for the rest of your products as well. There is also a possibility that you have a scalp condition that's made worse by your products. Lots of ingredients are irritants, even though they don't bother most people, but you could be more sensitive than others.

I think the best thing to do is to scale all the way back with your products and use things that are not known to cause allergies (and have only a few ingredients) and then slowly add things back in one ingredient at a time. That way you can try to isolate what's causing the problem. You may also want to visit the dermatoglogist.

My scalp feels the healthiest when I keep it clean and moisturized with all-natural things. Oyin's Juices&Berries works the best for my scalp as well as natural light oils like coconut oil.

IDareT'sHair

PJ Rehabilitation Center
I'm starting to notice the same areas get itchy and sore. Not only that, but I've also noticed that my scalp is EXTREMLY itchy after washing with shampoo Can you guys help me get my scalp in tip - top shape? TIA!

I use to have a dry, itchy scalp and I started using this "pre" treatment from Phyto that is nothing more than: Tea Tree Oil, Peppermint Oil and Rosemary EO. It has been working wonders for my Scalp.