Does anyone wear natural hair cornrows regularly to grow their hair?

Mahalialee4

I mean WITHOUT EXTENSIONS! (to be specific): How long have you been doing this and what kind of results are you getting in terms of thickness, length and healthy hair? Thank you for all replies. bonjour

Last edited:

MizAvalon

Do you mean natural textured hair or hair without extensions?

I am relaxed but I have worn cornrows(always with my own hair) off and on for years and it's a great protective style. Very adorable and easy for the summer months too. I have gained and retained lots of length with this style. They are great for wearing under wigs too, if you choose.

They make me look like I'm 13 years old, but I like them.:)

SweetCaramel1

i've been doing this for my daughter for about 2 years now. i noticed rubberbands were breaking her hair off, especially the side she slept on. it was really bad. she had a 2 inch ponytail on one side.

since i've been braiding and cornrowing she's retained length ever since. i was skeptical at first because i couldn't see the difference. but it has helped 100%.

Last edited:

locabouthair

i used to wear cornrows regularly without any added hair when i was natural. i didnt retain any length but i probably wasnt taking good care of my hair back then. everyone's hair is different. i've realized since coming to this board that my hair requires more care than most of the women here. dc every week, stretching, and moisturizing every day arent enough for me to gain length. my hair requires a LOT of care. so with that said, give them a try, it might work for u. :)

luv04

i do and still do from time to time..it helped me grow my crown out..also it a good way to style when u want a break i have sum pics in my album feel free to check them out..HHG

ToyToy

I wear cornrows on my hair all the time (without extensions). My edges are finally filling in nicely!

Mahalialee4