Big Chop Today

Postal

I'm about to big chop.
Today, in a couple of hours.
I just took out my weave and I thought, this is it! I'm terrified of the short hair I'm about to have but I feel like my hair might be healthier without all those straggly ends.
I've been transitioning for 22 months.

Should I go to a professional for this or is this really doable? I'm thinking that all I need is soaking wet hair to see the difference between natural and relaxed.

Any advice?

Adiatasha

I got my hair straightened and had them give me a hair cut.

But from what I've seen... Just wet your hair and cut where it stops being curly.

koolkittychick

Wet your hair to find the line of demarcation, and use a good sharp pair of shears. 22 months worth of growth should give you at least 10 inches of hair if you are an average grower, so I would hardly call that short (I BC'd after only 6 months--that was short!). Go slow, get some trusted help if you can, and enjoy the results. You should have enough hair to make some pretty decent afro puffs to start with, so good luck! :grin:

Gr8ness83