Ayurvedic ladies or those who Pre-Oil...how do you not end up with oily hair?

Mizani_Mrs

Ok so i've been pre-oiling (virgin coconut oil or vatika oil) for a few years now with GREAT success. But it requires washing 2x with shampoo to get rid of the greasiness. But now i'm ready to eliminate shampoo out of my regi. Anyone who pre-oil...what ayurvedic mix do you use that rinses the oil from the hair clean?

FYI: i've been using Vatika oil for a long time, but I've just recently been doing an Amla-Maka-Brahmi tea rinse and my hair ends up sooooo soft. But I ended up having to shampoo the oil out even after I did this rinse, so i feel like i shampoo'd away all of the softening benefits of the rinse. I have purchased, but have yet to experiment with the Aritha,Neem, Shikakai, Rose powders.

any tips?

Bun Mistress

How much oil are you using? I have been pre oiling for a year a littone on the scalp and length and haven't had this problem even when not using shampoo but you can't be heavy handed on the oil.

loolalooh

How much oil are you using? I have been pre oiling for a year a littone on the scalp and length and haven't had this problem even when not using shampoo but you can't be heavy handed on the oil.

Cosign. You may need to use less oil ... just enough for your hair to soak it in.

I agree with the above...I've never had this problem I just put the powders over the oils let it stay for an hour and wash out...maybe it;s the amount of oil you are using??

Mizani_Mrs

yea i admit...i'm pretty heavy on the oils... Maybe like 2-3 TBS. sometimes 4 :look: I'll try lightening up. THANKS! but i'm still wondering if any of the ayurvedic herbs can cleanse away oil?

MzJai

Hi MM,

Are you oiling wet or dry? I found that when I applied the oil on my dry hair that I ended up using more oil than necessary.
So now I wet it in the shower and then apply the oil (oil rinse). This way i use WAY less oil and reduce the greasiness. Can't speak much for the tub but :rolleyes:.....