Absolute Beginner needs help / has questions

alundra

Addicted to jdramas
I've been browsing this forum for about two weeks and just joined. This is my first post. :)
I've never washed my hair at home before. I've always gone to a salon. I can't afford to go to a salon anymore except for relaxers, so I could use some help.
My hair is relaxed. I have no idea what hair type I am -- I've tried looking and I can't figure it out. I've attached a picture, so if anyone wants to provide any clues they can.

What I desire
To get my hair to stop breaking off and shedding by taking care of it at home.

What I DO NOT want:
1. To avoid using hair rollers. If it comes down to it I can...
2. To use a flat iron! (If I have to... then I'll do it as little as possible)

I don't mind:
1. Using many products. I'm a product junkie. *hides*
2. Using a hair dryer. I've heard air drying until almost dry then using a dryer is a good
approach.
3. Taking vitamins. I already take biotin and flaxeed oil. I have good skin and nails, but
my hair is just sad right now.
4. Buying products online
5. Using natural products
6. Using essential oils

What I need help with:
How do I do a pre-shampoo? I've heard of a few products that I have in a .txt file some place.
Should I use a garlic shampoo for my hair breakage?
Do I use a garlic conditioner as well (if one exists)?
What kind of leave in treatment can I use?

Is this the order I should go in?:
1. Pre Shampoo
2. Shampoo
3. Conditioner

I want my hair to be nice and healthy, not break off or fall out wherever I go. It's getting really embarrassing, and I'm ashamed I can't do my own hair. :(
Thank you everyone for your help and patience. I'm an absolute beginner and I could use any help anyone has here. If this has already been covered, please feel free to send me the topic and I'll delete this as soon as possible.
Picture:

Last edited:

dreysonsmommy2011