Ladies... What do you do after taking out braids?

Kamilla16

Well I've had small human hair braids for about a month and 2 weeks. I want to take them out in about 2 weeks before school starts. What do I need to do after I take my braids out as far as protein conditioners, when I can get a relaxer touch-up, etc...

Thanks in advance

NAY007

well i'm not a braids expert, i can only tell you what i do when i take out my alicia keys cornrows. i only keep them up to one week though. and that is long:) i take them out and then wash about 2-3 times with a clarifying shampoo. then i slather my hair with my deep conditioner, which is st. ives, but cholesterol is good too. i leave that on for a looong time. maybe mixed with some olive oil. then i rinse and let my hair airdry. this has always been working for me.

nay

phynestone

When you take out your braids, use a little braid sheen or leave-in conditioner to help them come out so you don't damage your hair as you unbraid. Don't wait until all of your braids are out to comb your hair. Comb each section of hair that has been unbraided as soon as the braid is taken out. Then, section your hair when all of the braids have been removed and comb it gently. Make sure all of the knots and tangles have been removed before you wash your hair. Deep condition your hair when you wash it. It may be a good idea to wait 2 weeks before you get a touch up b/c of all the stress your hair was placed under when it was braided. I hope this helps.

Stormy

Re: Ladies... What do you do after taking out brai

When I take my braids out I comb, shampoo, use Keraphix (or you can use whatever protein reconstructor you like), then I do a deep conditioning, rinse, then use a leave in conditioner or my spray moisturizer depending on how I'm wearing my hair (bun or twist out). I wear my bun or twist out for about 1-2 weeks then I relax my hair.

Snowflake2504