What's wrong if I relax every 8-10 weeks???

gimbap

I'm new so I'm still learning...
Most of yall are big on stretching your relaxers, but what is the point in stretching them for more than 10-12 weeks?? If hair grows at least 1/2" a month, at 10-12 weeks you should have at least 1-1.5" of new growth. You shouldn't overlap.

Do you stretch for 12, 16, 34(j/k) weeks just to see if you have the ability to do it? I'm only 5 1/2 weeks post relaxer, and I notice that my hair is starting to break, any suggestions?

oobrittany said:
Most of yall are big on stretching your relaxers, but what is the point in stretching them for more than 10-12 weeks?? If hair grows at least 1/2" a month, at 10-12 weeks you should have at least 1-1.5" of new growth. You shouldn't overlap.

Do you stretch for 12, 16, 34(j/k) weeks just to see if you have the ability to do it? I'm only 5 1/2 weeks post relaxer, and I notice that my hair is starting to break, any suggestions?

You're right; the point of stretching is to allow more new growth to come in to prevent overlapping the relaxer. But some folks may choose to stretch longer than 12 weeks because their hair grows more slowly, or they just really want to give their hair a break from chemicals. It can also just be a personal goal. I'm going for an 11 week stretch right now (about 3 more weeks to go). I used to relax every 6 weeks and I didn't have all that much new growth - maybe .25-.75 inch.

If you notice that your hair is breaking, try a protein treatment or reconstructor (like Nexxus Emergencee). There is a "sticky" thread on the main page about hair breakage, and it explains the moisture/protein balance very well. There are different ways to counteract your breakage depending on your hair's needs.

ETA: Here's the hair breakage thread!
http://www.longhaircareforum.com/showthread.php?t=84746

Last edited: