The Doobie and it's beginnings

Junonia

I know when I was a sophomore in HS(1989) I noticed girls went from wearing mushrooms to doobies. Has it been around longer than that?

According to my stylist, it started in the Dominican salons. However, I've heard it started with the "halle Berry" when the hair was cut really short and wet wrapped then the pins came in later. Anyone know the story behind the doobie?

this website says it's been around since the early 1900s... but this isn't wikipeda so who knows. :)

http://www.lynjonta.com/doobiemyth.htm

oh, and i'm only posting this article for the date of origin reference. NOT for anything else stated by that salon... cuz its kind of ridiculous. lol.

Last edited:
Well I'm not sure of its exact origin...but I know that down South..people have been getting them for years...we don't call it doobies..we call it a roller wrap/set. My mom has been getting since she was little. So I know around the 1950's or before down here.

I have always wondered why the Dominican salons get credit for it. There aren't may Dominican salons in my city (maybe 4 or 5 - tops)..but almost every Black salon offers roller wraps..and rarely use a blow dryer..they pretty much always use the hooded dryer. This is the case where I come from at least.

But don't get me wrong there are some bad stylists..down here..and many...many..more scissor happy ones!

I miss my Doobie style days. :look: It was the easiest thing to do to my hair when it was relaxed. I always went to dom. salons because they were cheaper than the black salons in my area. For some reason, it always seemed to me that Dom. salons did doobies and black salons just did wet wraps. :rolleyes:

excuse my ignorance, but what is a doobie? is it an acutal style?