Switching from No lye to Lye

Patrice

Hey ladies I am thinking about trying Mizani lye relaxer but I have been using Optimum no lye for a few months now and its working ok But I am looking for a change, Can switching from no lye to lye damage my hair? has anyone ever done so without having problems?. I am due for a relaxer towards the middle of June after waiting 12 weeks and I am planning on colering my hair within a few weeks, My hair is at a really healthy stage right now and I am so afraid to mess it up, please give me some suggestions on switching and coloring Thanks in advance
ohwell.gif

Hi Patrice,

I switched from box perms to Affirm last year. Prior to that I had been using box perms my whole life. After giving my hair a 6 month break from chemicals, wearing braids. I didn't cut off all the no lye hair only about 3 inches. I haven't had any adverse effects. I have however been babying my hair since finding this board which I'm sure helped.

thanks Debyjay, I am so nervous because when I was looking at the mizani in the local beauty supply the chinese man said "that perm is gonna make all your hair come out" I guess Ill take my chances though

I switched to lye and had continually underprocessed hair and so switched back. If you aren't experiencing dryness with the no-lye (as many do, which is why they made the switch) I recommend sticking with what works.
I wish someone had told me that last year.

[ QUOTE ]
UmSumayyah said:
I switched to lye and had continually underprocessed hair and so switched back. If you aren't experiencing dryness with the no-lye (as many do, which is why they made the switch) I recommend sticking with what works.
I wish someone had told me that last year.

[/ QUOTE ]