Should we be using Nioxin and DHT Blocking Products?

chayil0427

I notice a lot of ladies who use Nioxin. I was wondering if if really helps to use a product made to block the chemical DHT in those who are balding. We're not ... well ... balding. Our hair grows (maybe not fast enough for us but it does grow). Soooooo....why use products for those suffering hair loss? Personally I feel it might be better to focus on maintaining length because if you're needing touch ups your hair is growing.

There are other products made to help with traction baldness and the thinning that comes from abusing your hair and scalp, but to my knowledge Nioxin is not made for that, but for hereditary alopecia. Yet, I'm not an expert on that so fill me in on Nioxin and other related topical hair growth products and let me know what you ladies think.

Chayil

chayil0427

Hmm...Nioxin's website makes this statement:

With 8 Nioxin® Thinning Hair Systems, Intensive Therapy™, and styling lines Volumizing Reflectives™ and Smoothing Reflectives™— all are designed as a process to create and maintain an optimum scalp environment for all hair textures. The Nioxin daily care regimen is a process that addresses the problems associated with thin-looking hair, including hair loss through mechanical breakage, which leads to fine, fragile, thin-looking hair.

So are there products more diverse than just items made for hereditary balding?

Blu217

I was using Nioxin shampoo and conditioner because I am going thru hereditary thinning.

I don't know that it helped. I do know that it is very drying after a while, and I'm not sure why you'd want to use their topical products if you aren't having a follicular emergency.

I just switched to NTM because my hair became dry and continued to come out anyway. It did give me thicker-looking hair, like Pantene's Full & Thick, and for a while I liked how my hair felt. But I wouldn't use it if I wasn't thinning.